omgkillo.blogg.se

Silent hunter 3 career guide
Silent hunter 3 career guide









silent hunter 3 career guide
  1. Silent hunter 3 career guide how to#
  2. Silent hunter 3 career guide install#
  3. Silent hunter 3 career guide mod#
  4. Silent hunter 3 career guide Patch#
  5. Silent hunter 3 career guide mods#

Other icing on my U-boat cake was provided by the Compulsory Head-dress mod (which makes the sloppy default crewmen wear a suitable cap) and the excellent TKSS18 German U-boat Compilation (GUC), which greatly improves the already-improved GWX boat models. The aforementioned harbour traffic (not the lite version) is probably my favourite addition we'll see that in action soon. GWX massively improved the already remarkable experience SH3 was giving me. this comes as an easy-to-use multi-part installer and while you don't then enable it via the ubiquitous JSGME, this does create several optional sub-mods which you can enable at choice - such as a 'lite' version of GWX's excellent harbour traffic. But in the end, I went for what's possibly the most popular, the Grey Wolves Expansion 3 Gold edition, commonly known as GWX3.

Silent hunter 3 career guide mods#

I was a bit wary of going for one of the several SH3 mega mods as I preferred to have a bit of choice in my set-up. Links to the stuff mentioned I'll post at the end of this thread.

Silent hunter 3 career guide install#

and the Doenitz Elite Flotilla's (DEF) SH3 front end, the former adding various goodies and the latter enabling me both to make a hassle-free second install of SH3 (to which I could apply my first choice of 'mega-mod' while not risking my near-vanilla one) and to apply at the click of a mouse the 'Steam fix' without which problems can ensue.

Silent hunter 3 career guide how to#

My appetite for mods thus whetted, to my rescue came Fiedler's guide to installing SH3 on Windows 10 (I'm actually playing ATM on Win 7): How to run STEAM-SH3-V1.6b-GWX-WIDESCREEN on Win10 () įollowed carefully, this led me to other indispensable tools like SH3 Commander.

Silent hunter 3 career guide Patch#

This needs a patch applied to enable the in-game map to display properly, but it all worked and worked well. A widescreen mod was essential though, and here I settled on ARB's one for 1080x1020. and even escape the inevitable retaliation, here directed at my larger Type IXC from an aircraft which caught me on the surface, leading to a rapid crash-dive.Īt first, I stayed away from mods, partly as I was delighted with the vanilla game, partly because I didn't want to break anything - having seen dark warnings of Steam SH3 needing a fix of some sort applied for some mods, to avoid subsequent issues. Heck, I even managed to sink some ships in convoy.

silent hunter 3 career guide

So there was I, happily really playing SH3 as if for the first time, and thinking how great a sim it still is, as I sailed out of port in my chosen boat, here an early-war Type VIIB. Like later DVD editions, Steam SH3 comes pre-patched to the latest official version (1.4b) and doesn't have Starforce. I had a few years away from simming about that time so it was only earlier this year that I dusted off my original SH3 DVD - and then bought the on-sale Steam version instead, rather than having to fiddle to get my early, Starforce-DRM protected version running on a post-Vista O/S. Despite being on your own, SH3 must surely rank as one of the most ambitious, most comprehensive and most immersive sims ever made, in any genre. Hence the next in the series, Silent Hunter II, was the one I jumped at - external view AND the ability to fight the Battle of the Atlantic in one of a range of different types of U-boats.Ī few years latter - in 2005 - along came Silent Hunter III, with a similar setting and an excellent, open-ended campaign system, lacking mainly AI subs and therefore the simulation of wolf-pack tactics, where several boats would on radio orders from Befehlshaber der U-Boote (BdU), form, abandon and reform patrol lines across suspected convoy routes, ganging up on any they came across.

silent hunter 3 career guide

Besides, it was set in the Pacific, which is well and good but my main interest in subs is in what Churchill famously said was 'the only thing that ever really frightened me during the war' - what he called 'the U-boat peril'. Even then, its graphics were somewhat dated and it had no external view, however good it might otherwise have been. U-33 goes to war in the epic U-boat sim - that's still being improved!īack in the day, I remember buying a bargain bin, jewel-cased CD release of the original Silent Hunter WW2 submarine simulation.











Silent hunter 3 career guide